So, Germany celebrates more Christian holidays than we do so I've been learning about this advent business. All I knew about it was that we eat a piece of candy every day of December up until Christmas. I love candy, and I love Christmas, and I love countdowns so this is right up my alley. But apparently you're supposed to light a candle on a wreath each of the four weekends before Christmas. Anyway, this was the first advent weekend, and boy was it a good 'un. I know I don't normally do travelog style, but I'm kind of going to now. Prepare yourself.
So Saturday I went to the city and was greeted by... well a late and rather full train. But when I got out of the station I was greeted by... WEINACHTSMARKT! Hallo? Yes please. It was a relatively small one, but I was stoked. There was an itty bitty baby Ferris Wheel and tons of vendors, and I spoke German (gasp), and I totally bought a 100g cone thing of roasted almonds (I'll get to the chestnuts later), and I devoured them at once. Ask me if I got a stomach ache. The answer is yes. Ask me if I regret it. The answer is a resounding no. There were some wicked sweet musicians playing the Hallelujah Chorus. It was kind of magical.
Then today I woke up and did my thing. When I went down the stairs, something out the window caught my eye. It was white flakey stuff coming down from the clouds. It DOES snow here. I was beginning to envy my friends in other parts of Germany who were claiming to have it. Throughout the morning the flakes got to be quarter-sized. Magical. So thank you, Germany, for starting off my Christmas month in style!
I'm not sayin'; I'm just sayin'.