I have been told that Americans are stereotyped as extremely friendly. I was never sure if I believed it until I starting frequenting Target and the bus here. Let's just look at Target for now. The other day I grabbed a snack from the deli/food court thing. The woman paying before me seemed quite frazzled as she searched for something. She kept saying something about how it wasn't a diamond but it was still a couple hundred dollars. I finally asked what she was looking for, and she said it was her engagement ring. The cashier asked if it had just now fallen off and the woman started talking about doing the dishes earlier. I was confused as to how she came to the conclusion that it was here with us rather than, perhaps, on her kitchen counter, but I felt bad for her. As she pushed her stroller forward my X-ray vision caught something under the counter. I asked her if that was it. Indeed it was. The woman was elated (or gassy-somewhere in that zone) as could be expected. She was talking in a rather constant stream, as could also be expected, I suppose. Then she reached out and hugged me. I saw it coming as if in slow motion. Stranger's arms coming toward me. I braced myself. After completing her hug she continued talking and thanking me. Then she said she'd kiss me if it wouldn't result in a lawsuit. I was ok with the gratitude stopping there. I'm certain I would not have taken legal action, but I won't lie, if she wants to use that reason to not kiss me, then I shan't argue with her logic. I guess people are just friendly here. Maybe a little too friendly. Minus all the lawsuits.
I'm not sayin'; I'm just sayin'.
I'm not sayin'; I'm just sayin'.