Saturday, March 8, 2014

Get a Hold of Yourself

It was one of those days. The sun was shining. Work went well. Blah blah blah. On the way home I decided to stop at a little shop that I had heard sold German chocolate actually brought over from Germany. It was heaven, I'm telling you. Now I don't have to ration what I brought back with me quite so much. This could do bad things to my waistline and my wallet. So I went into this store and lo and behold they had a whole German section. And my favorite chocolates were there (unfortunately the girl working there didn't think they had Schorle but I suppose nothing's perfect). I looked on in wonder and finally picked up a few vastly overpriced schoko bons to tide me over and assured the girl working there that I'd be back. I came out elated and unlocked my bike. I was pretty much on cloud 9. The path from the patio area made a pretty sharp turn back onto the sidewalk. I turned my handlebars and noticed an attractive guy walking down the sidewalk in my direction. I started to ride. My bike disagreed. Next thing I knew I was on my hands and knees straddling the bicycle. Should have seen that coming... And guy got to me just in time to have a front row seat.
"Are you ok?!" He asked as I took a moment to process and bow my head in shame. I picked myself up and laughed awkwardly.
"Only my pride's hurt." I replied with a smile and another chuckle. He reach down and picked something up and handed it to me.
"What's that?"
"One of your reflectors."
"Oh... I don't even know... how..."
"I think you can just screw it back on."
"Yep. Ok. Thanks."
As I started to leave he asked again if I was all right and wished me luck.
Thank you sir. And I continued on my way, laughing under my breath to myself. At least the chocolates were safe in my bag.
I got home and pulled out my phone, which had apparently been playing music silently in my pocket the entire time.
And what, might you ask, was the song title displayed across the top of my screen? "Get a Hold of Yourself". Thanks for that.

I'm not sayin'; I'm just sayin'.

Friday, March 7, 2014

Flashback Friday: About Teeth Whitening...

One time a friend of mine informed me that Americans all whiten their teeth. I replied that this was a ridiculous and false stereotype resulting from the survey sample being taken from airbrushed Hollywood and other media sources. Their retort was that I must at least use whitening toothpaste. Well duh. Doesn't everyone at least sometimes? I don't think that is that weird, or unique to Americans. But rather than quitting while I was ahead, I added, "I don't need to go get my teeth whitened. I can just buy Crest whitestrips." Ah. Yep. Shot myself in the foot with that one.

I'm not sayin'; I'm just sayin'.