My food blog has moved! For more delicious recipes go to: http://fafordham.wixsite.com/happytummyhappylife
Wednesday, December 14, 2016
Friday, April 22, 2016
Tropical Smoosie
The other day I watched a video on making piƱa colada (virgin), but
pineapple is too acidic for me so I decided to switch things up a bit, and then I went from there.
We had these with our brunch the next morning and were more than
satisfied with the impromptu experimentation. This smoothie is so simple that it seems too obvious to even post, but it is so deliciously refreshing that I couldn't resist. The coconut milk and the frozen fruit make it incredibly thick and smooth and the lime makes all the flavors come together so that you can't quite decide which ingredient you're tasting.
(Pictures coming soon!)
(Pictures coming soon!)
Tropical
Smoothie
1 can coconut milk (shake/blend to combine beforehand)
Frozen mango (3ish handfuls)
1.5 frozen bananas
Juice of 1 lime (plus zest?)
Water
1. Pour the
coconut milk into the blender and scrape any of the solid in
2. Blend to
combine
3. Add
banana, mango, lime juice and zest
4. Refill the
now-empty coconut milk can with water and pour into blender until desired
consistency (you’ll use between .5 and 1 whole can)
Makes 2 servings
I lived in Russia for several months and learned the Cyrillic alphabet (so basically I could sound words out but had no idea what they meant). I learned that there is no "th" sound (as is the case in many languages). So, any beverage that is cold and thick (including icees, etc.) is simply called a smoothie. But since there is no "th" it is simply called a "smoosie". And that's the Russian word for it because they don't historically have any such drink. I'm not really sure what that tangent was about, but I still enjoy calling them smoosies. And this one is paticularly thick and "smoos".
Saturday, April 16, 2016
Pancakes
These are a breakfast-for-dinner or Saturday brunch favorite in our house. These pancakes are healthy and hearty, and they feel good in the gut.
As you can see, I occasionally measure things-very occasionally. Perhaps that will change someday. In the meantime, please comment and tell me how you like your pancakes!
Pancakes
¾ cup white flour
¾ cup whole wheat flour
3 ½ t baking powder
1 pinch of salt
1 egg
¼ cup applesauce
1 ¼ cup milk
1 capful vanilla
A dash of cinnamon
Coconut oil (to grease the pan)
1.
Mix flour, baking powder and salt
in a mixing bowl
2.
Add egg, milk, vanilla,
applesauce, vanilla and cinnamon and mix everything together, making sure to
leave some lumps in the batter
3.
Heat pan on medium heat and
grease the pan with coconut oil (or whatever you like, that’s just my
preference)
4.
Pour batter onto pan. I usually
use a ¼ cup measuring cup as a guide to mete them out
5.
You know they’re ready to flip
when the edges look dry and the bubbles are popping
6.
Top with honey, berries, cinnamon
sugar or whatever you like on your pancakes!
Friday, April 8, 2016
Roasted Broccoli
When I need a veggie side dish this is my go-to. At least it has been lately.
Lemon, garlic, olive oil, parmesan cheese and crispy bread crumbs-how can you possibly go wrong? It might not be the lowest calorie way to eat broccoli, but it definitely gets points in the "yummy" category. Please comment if you try it out. Also let me know your favorite veggie side dishes!
Roasted Broccoli
![]() |
| (Before Baking) |
Broccoli
(frozen is fine but make sure it's thawed and dry. As to how much:I fill a regular cereal
bowl)
2-3 pieces
of bread (stale is fine, moldy is not)
Parmesan
cheese
1 small
lemon
Olive oil
Salt
Pepper
1/2 - 1
clove garlic (depending on size of clove)
Prep:
1. Thaw and dry
the broccoli if you’re using frozen. Cut into
pieces of desired size if you’re using fresh.
2. Put bread
into food processor and process (if anyone knows the verb for that, please let
me know) until there are no large pieces of bread
3. Dice garlic
(or just use a garlic crusher)
4. Put broccoli
and bread crumbs into a mixing bowl
5. Add grated
parmesan, lemon zest, juice of ½ lemon, garlic, salt, pepper, and a drizzle of
olive oil
6. Use your
hands to mix everything together (just make sure you’ve washed them)
7. Pour the
mixture onto a baking tray and spread it out relatively evenly
8. Add a last
sprinkle of parmesan and drizzle of olive oil over the top (if you want)
9. Bake at 375*
F until golden brown
Lemon, garlic, olive oil, parmesan cheese and crispy bread crumbs-how can you possibly go wrong? It might not be the lowest calorie way to eat broccoli, but it definitely gets points in the "yummy" category. Please comment if you try it out. Also let me know your favorite veggie side dishes!
Monday, March 14, 2016
"Those people"
I'm not "one of those people." At least, I never was. You know, the ones who love cooking. I used to say, "I'd better marry a man who cooks or we're both going to starve because I hate doing it." The word "foodie" was a foreign concept that I thought I would simply never relate to. I was raised being told to eat vegetables, go easy on the junk food and fast food, and opt for fruit before candy when I wanted a sweet snack. But beyond that I considered cooking as simply an added step and waste of time between the moment I decided I was hungry to the moment I could start shoveling it in. "Besides," I thought, "how will I know what I'm going to be hungry for until I'm hungry for it?" Thus I would resort to chicken wraps, salad, cereal or whatever else was the pick of that week. And from talking to people, I don't think I was alone in this ideology. Then a crazy thing happened. I decided to try something new. At first it was just an occasional experiment. And then the constant pain I was in fueled me to finding a new way of looking at things. I decided to take matters into my own hands. I'm still very much a novice and have loads to learn. But if I can do it, anyone can.
My husband and I both work fulltime. My job can be emotionally and/or physically taxing (but I love it) and I understand wanting to come home and just be done thinking. That's the beauty of planning ahead. I plan all my meals for the month so I don't have to worry about thinking of something when I'm already tired. Some people (who shall remain nameless) have said that they just can't mealplan, so I'm going to share my secret now.
I essentially just open my google calendar (so that I can access it on my phone and even get reminders of what's for dinner tomorrow) and fill in a template. During the week it can be hard to cook because of late work, wanting to have family time once I get home, or going to the gym. I make sure that I cook big meals on Saturday and Sunday so that each will last for at least one night of leftovers. I then make sure that my husband (and I) knows that it will be a two day dinner and we need to only eat half and then fill up more on salad, fruit or other sides if we're still hungry. Then I only have to cook one (worst case scenario: two) nights during the week. I also know that by Friday I'm tired, my husband is tired and we're almost definitely out of leftovers. So, in my house, Friday is breakfast for dinner. Whoever gets home first can start whipping up some scrambled eggs with toast, pancakes, smoothies, oatmeal or whatever other hot breakfast we can think of. Basically here's my template:
Sunday: Big dinner
Monday: Leftovers
Tuesday: Something quick and easy
Wednesday: Leftovers
Thursday: "Experiment" (which means leftovers or use up whatever ingredients are left in the fridge)
Friday: Breakfast
Saturday: Big dinner
I plug everything in and only have to pick 3ish things to make each week. Ta-Da! That's how it works for me. Your schedule is probably different so arrange it however works for you. This is just an example, and it makes evenings so much easier. Of course things are subject to change for various reasons, but at least I'm never surprised or feel like it's down to the wire and we're either going to starve or eat out.
The other question/concern that I want to address is "How do I know what I'm going to feel like eating on that day?" This is a valid concern and one I used to have. I can't speak for anyone else, but now that I plan ahead, I crave whatever I planned on making that day. I only cook foods that I like (for starters) and I switch it up so that I can look forward to it. I decide what I'm going to crave. I'm the master of food. Not the other way around. (Caution: I have no scientific basis for what I'm about to say, it only makes sense in my head.) Also, because I'm not as many eating highly processed, addicting foods, I don't have as many cravings. I enjoy food and feel pleasantly satisfied. End of caution.
My last plug for meal plans is the ease of grocery shopping. I just look at my menu and buy exactly what I need for the week (taking into account lunches and breakfast stuff). It makes the list-making process easier, I don't waste as much, and I don't overspend.
In a nutshell, I'm a strong endorser of meal planning. It seems daunting at first, but it is worth it on so many levels.
My husband and I both work fulltime. My job can be emotionally and/or physically taxing (but I love it) and I understand wanting to come home and just be done thinking. That's the beauty of planning ahead. I plan all my meals for the month so I don't have to worry about thinking of something when I'm already tired. Some people (who shall remain nameless) have said that they just can't mealplan, so I'm going to share my secret now.
I essentially just open my google calendar (so that I can access it on my phone and even get reminders of what's for dinner tomorrow) and fill in a template. During the week it can be hard to cook because of late work, wanting to have family time once I get home, or going to the gym. I make sure that I cook big meals on Saturday and Sunday so that each will last for at least one night of leftovers. I then make sure that my husband (and I) knows that it will be a two day dinner and we need to only eat half and then fill up more on salad, fruit or other sides if we're still hungry. Then I only have to cook one (worst case scenario: two) nights during the week. I also know that by Friday I'm tired, my husband is tired and we're almost definitely out of leftovers. So, in my house, Friday is breakfast for dinner. Whoever gets home first can start whipping up some scrambled eggs with toast, pancakes, smoothies, oatmeal or whatever other hot breakfast we can think of. Basically here's my template:
Sunday: Big dinner
Monday: Leftovers
Tuesday: Something quick and easy
Wednesday: Leftovers
Thursday: "Experiment" (which means leftovers or use up whatever ingredients are left in the fridge)
Friday: Breakfast
Saturday: Big dinner
I plug everything in and only have to pick 3ish things to make each week. Ta-Da! That's how it works for me. Your schedule is probably different so arrange it however works for you. This is just an example, and it makes evenings so much easier. Of course things are subject to change for various reasons, but at least I'm never surprised or feel like it's down to the wire and we're either going to starve or eat out.
The other question/concern that I want to address is "How do I know what I'm going to feel like eating on that day?" This is a valid concern and one I used to have. I can't speak for anyone else, but now that I plan ahead, I crave whatever I planned on making that day. I only cook foods that I like (for starters) and I switch it up so that I can look forward to it. I decide what I'm going to crave. I'm the master of food. Not the other way around. (Caution: I have no scientific basis for what I'm about to say, it only makes sense in my head.) Also, because I'm not as many eating highly processed, addicting foods, I don't have as many cravings. I enjoy food and feel pleasantly satisfied. End of caution.
My last plug for meal plans is the ease of grocery shopping. I just look at my menu and buy exactly what I need for the week (taking into account lunches and breakfast stuff). It makes the list-making process easier, I don't waste as much, and I don't overspend.
In a nutshell, I'm a strong endorser of meal planning. It seems daunting at first, but it is worth it on so many levels.
Thursday, March 10, 2016
Rainbow Chili
Last time I made this my husband said we should have chili every week
(yes, even without meat). I don't know that I would go that far, but it's
definitely filling, nutritious (depending how much cheese
and how many chips you add) and delicious.
Rainbow
Chili
3-4 Bell peppers of different colors
1 onion (or 2 halves of different colors, or
even a leek)
1 small or ½ large yam (that’s the one with
orange flesh)
Lentils
Beans of choice
2 large cans of tomatoes
2-4 cloves of garlic (depending on size)
Cumin
Coriander
Salt
Pepper
Chili Powder
(Optional) chilis to taste
Olive Oil
You’re also welcome to add meat of your
choice-I don’t simply for aforementioned reasons
Toppings:
Lime
Plain Greek Yogurt
Cheese
Rice
Chips
Avocado
1.
Pour some olive oil in a pot and
turn the heat between medium-low and medium
2.
Chop vegetables and add to pot (I
prefer my vegetables to be in smaller pieces, but do it however you prefer)
3.
Allow the vegetables to sweat
until they start to appear soft, and the onions begin to appear transparent
4.
Chop garlic very fine or use a
garlic crusher and add to vegetables
5.
Add cumin and coriander- I use a
lot. As in I take off the lid part with holes and dump a small pile on. Yum!
6.
Blend canned tomatoes to desired
consistency (We don’t like tomato chunks so I always make it pretty smooth)
7.
Add blended tomatoes to
vegetables
8.
Chop the uncooked yam into
bite-size pieces
9.
Rinse beans and lentils (the
lentils can be added uncooked since they will cook in the chili) and add to the
pot
10. Add chili powder and a pinch of salt and pepper
11. Cover and allow to simmer for as long as you have patience-the
longer, the better. In fact the leftovers are always even better than fresh.
12. Check on it and add seasoning according to taste (I always add
more cumin and coriander)
13. Cook rice (I recommend brown but use whatever you have/prefer) either in a rice cooker or on the stove
14. Dish up your rice and chili, add a squeeze of lime, a dollop of
greek yogurt, and avocado. My husband loads on the cheese and chips. But this
last time, everything else was so good that I forgot to add cheese and chips.
And when I later added them on, they actually took away from the deliciousness,
but do what you want.
I've seen several different recipes on chili and I'm not saying this one is all that revolutionary, but it serves us well in our home. I heard once the phrase "eat the rainbow" and no, it's not talking about Skittles. It's talking about PHYTOCHEMICALS! The different colors of fruits and vegetables means that they have different nutrients and health benefits. So my challenge in this chili is to get every color. I usually use anywhere from half to all of a pepper to get a little bit of everything in.
This is one combination of vegetables that I used. I'm missing blue/purple which is found in things like blueberries (which I will not put in chili) and red onions (which I will put in chili but didn't have on hand that particular day). Use up any odds and ends that you have laying around. Do people normally have parts of onions and peppers in their fridge, or is it just me? On this day it looks like I had white onion, leek, and all four colors of pepper. The yams add some sweetness, and the beans and lentils provide protein and make it hearty. Just remember to make a big batch, because it's always better the next day.
Also, be sure to wash your hands after handling the chilis. I've forgotten. Twice. And suffered the consequences. Twice. Bad News.
Wednesday, March 9, 2016
Dirty Lunch
When I need to whip up and cheap and easy lunch that will last most of the week I turn to dirty beans and rice. My husband works with a lot of international students (and loves it). Last time he had this for lunch they asked him where he was from because he was eating like the Latinos. They were impressed. Street cred for us.
(1a. Optional-cut up some ham or bacon and cook that in the pot before moving on to step 1)
There's not a whole lot more to say about this. It's relatively fast and super easy and keeps me from having to come up with something for lunches every night. Also, I just discovered the wonder of using my cast iron pan in lieu of a normal non-stick pot. I highly recommend it.
Quick Dirty
Beans
2 celery stalks
Black beans (about 2-3 cans worth, but I just
use my own frozen)
1-2 cloves garlic
½ onion (any color, I usually use yellow)
½-1 yam (depending on size)
½-1 yam (depending on size)
Cumin
Coriander
Salt
Pepper
Chili powder/fresh chili (optional)
Cayenne pepper (optional)
Chili powder/fresh chili (optional)
Cayenne pepper (optional)
Red wine vinegar
Olive Oil
Rice
Lime
Plain Greek yogurt (optional-I use this is lieu of sour cream)
Fresh cilantro (optional)
Cheese
(1a. Optional-cut up some ham or bacon and cook that in the pot before moving on to step 1)
1. Get a pot going with 2ish
tablespoons olive oil on a medium-low to medium heat
2.
Chop vegetables except, and add all except yams to the
pot
3.
Start cooking rice (I almost
always recommend brown)
4.
Once vegetables have softened
(appear translucent), add chopped or crushed garlic, cumin and coriander
5.
Sweat vegetables with spices for
3-5 minutes
6.
Add beans including liquid (don’t
drain)
7.
Blend up 1 can of tomatoes
8.
Take a few scoops of beans out of
the pot and add to the blender (this is up to your preference-it gives it a
thick sauce that soaks into the rice rather than just biting into beans and
then rice. You can also partially blend some to have the full range of the
spectrum)
9.
Season with salt, pepper,
optional chilis and 2-3 splashes of vinegar (also add more cumin and coriander
as needed) and add chopped yams
10. Let it simmer for as long as you can stand to wait-the longer the
better (this will help the flavors soak in and also help reduce it if it is too
liquidy)
11. Dish up rice, and top with beans
12. Add lime, yogurt (unless you’ll be reheating later, then obviously
wait to add), chopped cilantro and cheese.
This feeds my husband and I for lunch for
about 2-3 days.
There's not a whole lot more to say about this. It's relatively fast and super easy and keeps me from having to come up with something for lunches every night. Also, I just discovered the wonder of using my cast iron pan in lieu of a normal non-stick pot. I highly recommend it.
Wednesday, February 24, 2016
Breakfast: Granola
Here we are- back to breakfast. I just like breakfast. Somehow there is an inherent permission to utilize much less variety and less complicated meals. So here's my granola recipe. This simple but delicious breakfast weaned us off storebought cereals until we were ready to graduate to overnight oats. Give it a try!
Granola
Ingredients:
½ cup coconut oil
½ - ¾ cup honey
one capful vanilla
cinnamon
6 cups rolled oats
Optional: 1 handful of dates, food processed and mixed in as an extra sweetener
Optional: 1 handful of dates, food processed and mixed in as an extra sweetener
Toppings to taste: raisins, craisins, apple
pieces, slivered almonds, ground flax, chia seeds etc.
1. Melt honey and oil together on low temperature
2. Mix in cinnamon and vanilla
3. Once the mixture is completely melted and combined, add oats
4. Stir until coated
5. Mix in any other add-ins
6. Cover two baking sheets with parchment paper
7. Pour the mixture onto the sheets, spreading to make a thin, even
layer
8. Bake at 325* for about 10-15 minutes, then take out and add the dried fruit. This will prevent the dried fruit from burning and also allow you to mix the oats up a little since those around the edge tend to cook faster
9. Put back in the oven for another 5-10 minutes. Watch closely because it can go from golden brown to burnt very quickly.
I don't really have anything else to say about this except: let me know what you think!
9. Put back in the oven for another 5-10 minutes. Watch closely because it can go from golden brown to burnt very quickly.
![]() |
| I mix up plain Greek yogurt with honey and put mix the granola in |
![]() |
| My husband adds frozen berries and pours milk over it |
I don't really have anything else to say about this except: let me know what you think!
Subscribe to:
Comments (Atom)







