The other day I watched a video on making piƱa colada (virgin), but
pineapple is too acidic for me so I decided to switch things up a bit, and then I went from there.
We had these with our brunch the next morning and were more than
satisfied with the impromptu experimentation. This smoothie is so simple that it seems too obvious to even post, but it is so deliciously refreshing that I couldn't resist. The coconut milk and the frozen fruit make it incredibly thick and smooth and the lime makes all the flavors come together so that you can't quite decide which ingredient you're tasting.
(Pictures coming soon!)
(Pictures coming soon!)
Tropical
Smoothie
1 can coconut milk (shake/blend to combine beforehand)
Frozen mango (3ish handfuls)
1.5 frozen bananas
Juice of 1 lime (plus zest?)
Water
1. Pour the
coconut milk into the blender and scrape any of the solid in
2. Blend to
combine
3. Add
banana, mango, lime juice and zest
4. Refill the
now-empty coconut milk can with water and pour into blender until desired
consistency (you’ll use between .5 and 1 whole can)
Makes 2 servings
I lived in Russia for several months and learned the Cyrillic alphabet (so basically I could sound words out but had no idea what they meant). I learned that there is no "th" sound (as is the case in many languages). So, any beverage that is cold and thick (including icees, etc.) is simply called a smoothie. But since there is no "th" it is simply called a "smoosie". And that's the Russian word for it because they don't historically have any such drink. I'm not really sure what that tangent was about, but I still enjoy calling them smoosies. And this one is paticularly thick and "smoos".
